Mount Rushmore National Memorial

Mount Rushmore lies in the heart of the Black Hills of South Dakota. And carved into this mountain are the 60 ft sculptures of the heads of four United States Presidents, George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt, and Abraham Lincoln. This is the Mount Rushmore National Memorial. The sculptures were designed by the sculptor Gutzon Borglum. Borglum, with the help of his son Lincoln, guided the creation of these sculptures, which began in 1927 and continued through 1941. I visited the Memorial in 1991 and again in 2018, and there were significant upgrades to the Memorial between those 2 visits.

Entrance Sign 1991

Entrance Sign 2018

George Washington
View from SD State Hwy 244

Mount Rushmore National Memorial

Entrance to Avenue of Flags

Avenue of Flags Entrance and Shops

Gift Shop

Gift Shop

Gutzon Borglum Bust

Rushmore Workers 1927 - 1941

Avenue of Flags 1991

Avenue of Flags 2018

Avenue of Flags

Colorado State Flag

New Mexico State Flag

Grand View Terrace

Grand View Terrace

The Presidents
Viewed from Grand View Terrace

The Presidents 1991

The Presidents 2018

The Presidents (no audio)


Ranger talk on Grand View Terrace

The Presidents

George, Thomas, and Teddy

Teddy and Abe

Use the form on the Home Page to submit comments, questions, or suggestions.  TD Productions Copyright © 2018